Official Country Name

Brunei Overview
The Sultanate of Brunei's influence peaked between the 15th and 17th centuries when its control extended over coastal areas of northwest Borneo and the southern Philippines. Brunei subsequently entered a period of decline brought on by internal strife over royal succession, colonial expansion of European powers, and piracy. In 1888, Brunei became a British protectorate; independence was achieved in 1984. The same family has ruled Brunei for over six centuries. Brunei benefits from extensive petroleum and natural gas fields, the source of one of the highest per capita GDPs in the developing world.

Brunei Economy
This small, well-to-do economy encompasses a mixture of foreign and domestic entrepreneurship, government regulation, welfare measures, and village tradition. Crude oil and natural gas production account for nearly half of GDP and more than 90% of government revenues. Per capita GDP is far above most other Third World countries, and substantial income from overseas investment supplements income from domestic production. The government provides for all medical services and free education through the university level and subsidizes rice and housing. Brunei's leaders are concerned that steadily increased integration in the world economy will undermine internal social cohesion. Plans for the future include upgrading the labor force, reducing unemployment, strengthening the banking and tourist sectors, and, in general, further widening the economic base beyond oil and gas.

Brunei Location
Brunei is located in Southeastern Asia, bordering the South China Sea and Malaysia

Brunei is located in Asia

Brunei Population
Brunei has population of 379,444 (July 2006 est.)

Brunei Climate
Brunei has tropical; hot, humid, rainy

Brunei Terrain
flat coastal plain rises to mountains in east; hilly lowland in west

Brunei Natural Resources
petroleum, natural gas, timber

Ethnic Groups in Brunei
Brunei has the following ethnic groups - Malay 67%, Chinese 15%, indigenous 6%, other 12%

Brunei Religions
Muslim (official) 67%, Buddhist 13%, Christian 10%, indigenous beliefs and other 10%

Brunei Languages
Malay (official), English, Chinese

Brunei Capital
Brunei capital is Bandar Seri Begawan

Brunei Currency
Brunei currency is Bruneian dollar

Map of Brunei