Cayman Islands

Official Country Name
Cayman Islands

Cayman Islands Overview
The Cayman Islands were colonized from Jamaica by the British during the 18th and 19th centuries, and were administered by Jamaica after 1863. In 1959, the islands became a territory within the Federation of the West Indies, but when the Federation dissolved in 1962, the Cayman Islands chose to remain a British dependency.

Cayman Islands Economy
With no direct taxation, the islands are a thriving offshore financial center. More than 68,000 companies were registered in the Cayman Islands as of 2003, including almost 500 banks, 800 insurers, and 5000 mutual funds. A stock exchange was opened in 1997. Tourism is also a mainstay, accounting for about 70% of GDP and 75% of foreign currency earnings. The tourist industry is aimed at the luxury market and caters mainly to visitors from North America. Total tourist arrivals exceeded 2.1 million in 2003, with about half from the US. About 90% of the islands' food and consumer goods must be imported. The Caymanians enjoy one of the highest outputs per capita and one of the highest standards of living in the world.

Cayman Islands Location
Cayman Islands is located in Caribbean, three island (Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, Little Cayman) group in Caribbean Sea, 240 km south of Cuba and 268 km northwest of Jamaica

Cayman Islands is located in Caribbean

Cayman Islands Population
Cayman Islands has population of 45,436

Cayman Islands Climate
Cayman Islands has tropical marine; warm, rainy summers (May to October) and cool, relatively dry winters (November to April)

Cayman Islands Terrain
low-lying limestone base surrounded by coral reefs

Cayman Islands Natural Resources
fish, climate and beaches that foster tourism

Ethnic Groups in Cayman Islands
Cayman Islands has the following ethnic groups - mixed 40%, white 20%, black 20%, expatriates of various ethnic groups 20%

Cayman Islands Religions
United Church (Presbyterian and Congregational), Anglican, Baptist, Church of God, other Protestant, Roman Catholic

Cayman Islands Languages

Cayman Islands Capital
Cayman Islands capital is George Town

Cayman Islands Currency
Cayman Islands currency is Caymanian dollar

Map of Cayman Islands