Saint Lucia

Official Country Name
Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia Overview
The island, with its fine natural harbor at Castries, was contested between England and France throughout the 17th and early 18th centuries (changing possession 14 times); it was finally ceded to the UK in 1814. Even after the abolition of slavery on its plantations in 1834, Saint Lucia remained an agricultural island, dedicated to producing tropical commodity crops. Self-government was granted in 1967 and independence in 1979.

Saint Lucia Economy
Changes in the EU import preference regime and the increased competition from Latin American bananas have made economic diversification increasingly important in Saint Lucia. The island nation has been able to attract foreign business and investment, especially in its offshore banking and tourism industries. Tourism is the main source of foreign exchange, with more than 700,000 arrivals in 2005. The manufacturing sector is the most diverse in the Eastern Caribbean area, and the government is trying to revitalize the banana industry. Economic fundamentals remain solid, even though unemployment needs to be cut.

Saint Lucia Location
Saint Lucia is located in Caribbean, island between the Caribbean Sea and North Atlantic Ocean, north of Trinidad and Tobago

Saint Lucia is located in Caribbean

Saint Lucia Population
Saint Lucia has population of 168,458 (July 2006 est.)

Saint Lucia Climate
Saint Lucia has tropical, moderated by northeast trade winds; dry season January to April, rainy season May to August

Saint Lucia Terrain
volcanic and mountainous with some broad, fertile valleys

Saint Lucia Natural Resources
forests, sandy beaches, minerals (pumice), mineral springs, geothermal potential

Ethnic Groups in Saint Lucia
Saint Lucia has the following ethnic groups - black 90%, mixed 6%, East Indian 3%, white 1%

Saint Lucia Religions
Roman Catholic 67.5%, Seventh Day Adventist 8.5%, Pentecostal 5.7%, Rastafarian 2.1%, Anglican 2%, Evangelical 2%, other Christian 5.1%, other 1.1%, unspecified 1.5%, none 4.5% (2001 census)

Saint Lucia Languages
English (official), French patois

Saint Lucia Capital
Saint Lucia capital is Castries

Saint Lucia Currency
Saint Lucia currency is East Caribbean dollar

Map of Saint Lucia